Comparison

Cision vs Notified for PR teams, compared on launches, phases and scale

The short answer

On the map, Cision and Notified both sit in PR suites [1][2]. Cision describes itself as "The leading platform for media professionals" [1], and Notified as "Everything your team needs to communicate with confidence and get discovered in AI search and answer engines" [2]. Only Notified has a dated agent launch on the map, "Notified MCP beta: PR and IR data in Teams and Copilot" (announced, beta) [3]. Cision is core in Search, Pitch and Measure, where Notified is not [4][5].

Cision and Notified at a glance
CisionNotified
CategoryPR suites [1]PR suites [2]
Core phasesDiscover, Search, Pitch and Measure [4]Discover [5]
Partial phasesNone [4]Search, Pitch and Measure [5]
Dated product launches since April 29, 202545 [4]14 [5]
Agent launches0 [4]2 [5]
Latest launchAdds AI Visibility Answers to the AI Visibility dashboard (announced). October 2026 [6]Notified MCP beta: PR and IR data in Teams and Copilot (announced, beta). Oct. 21, 2026 [3]
ScaleTier 1, enterprise incumbent. Platinum Equity-owned; $2.7B take-private in 2020; revenue undisclosed. [4]Tier 1, enterprise incumbent. Operates GlobeNewswire; 'more than 10,000 global customers' (2023 release); part of Equiniti (12,000 clients combined) since 2025-05-01; revenue not disclosed. [5]
Price on recordA third-party estimate, not a vendor price: vendr median across 107 purchases: ~$12,625/yr (vendr.com/marketplace/cision). [4]Not published; demo-led. AI Press Release Optimizer included at no extra charge with GlobeNewswire distribution subscriptions. [5]
Sitehttps://www.cision.com/https://www.notified.com/

What each sells

Cision

A 500,000-profile media database, monitoring, PR Newswire distribution (including its Amplify AI planning, drafting and reporting tools), and an AI Visibility Dashboard built on Trajaan, the search-intelligence company Cision bought in December 2025. No self-serve price is published; Vendr reports a ~$12,625/yr median across 107 deals. [4]

Cision on the PR software map

Notified

“Your Global Technology Partner for PR & IR.” Operator of the GlobeNewswire wire. Content OS bundles distribution, an AI-powered media contacts database with Smart Search and AI-generated pitch drafts, media monitoring, online newsrooms and analytics; the AI Press Release Optimizer and GlobeNewswire analytics with Profound’s AI-citation data target answer-engine visibility. IR side: IR Hub with the IRIS assistant, agentic event reporting and an IR website chatbot. Owned by Equiniti (EQ) since May 2025. [5]

Notified on the PR software map

Recent launches side by side

The newest five dated product launches on the map for each company, newest first.

Cision

  • October 2026. Adds AI Visibility Answers to the AI Visibility dashboard. Users read the verbatim answers ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity and others gave behind each chart point, filtered by model, entity, sentiment or cited source. Announced. [6]
  • October 2026. Adds follower growth, engagement and posting-time Social charts. New charts track follower growth across platforms and accounts, benchmark Instagram competitors, follow post engagement over time and show median posting times. Announced. [6]
  • September 2026. Adds Spike Notifications to CisionOne Monitoring. Alerts fire on surges in volume, sentiment or social shares, with optional AI summaries and a coverage chart in the email. Announced. [7]
  • August 2026. Adds scheduled email delivery of Instant Insights reports. Dashboards export and send weekly or monthly, including a public read-only version for recipients without a login. Announced. [8]
  • July 14, 2026. AI Visibility Dashboard. Monitors, analyzes and benchmarks how brands appear across AI platforms (ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, Grok, DeepSeek, Google AI Overview, Mistral). [9]

Notified

  • Oct. 21, 2026. Notified MCP beta: PR and IR data in Teams and Copilot. Notified opened a beta of Notified MCP, connecting its Content OS and IR Hub to AI agents, starting with Microsoft Teams and Copilot. Announced, beta. [3]
  • Sept. 2, 2026. Adds AI Citation Reporting for IR websites. Shows AI bot requests, pages crawled, active AI crawlers and AI traffic share on IR websites. [10]
  • Sept. 2, 2026. Adds Agentic Event Reporting to IR Hub. AI produces post-event summaries, themes, Q&A analysis and media and retail-investor signals. [10]
  • Sept. 2, 2026. Adds an AI chatbot for IR websites. An AI chatbot on the IR website answers investor questions in multiple languages and shows what investors ask. [10]
  • Aug. 26, 2026. Adds a Hearst Media distribution circuit. US Media Plus - Hearst Media sends eligible releases to pages on SFGATE, the San Francisco Chronicle and SeattlePI. [11]

PR phases compared

Core means the product is built on that phase. Partial means the phase is there but secondary. Not found means the map did not find it on the company’s own site.

PhaseCisionNotified
DiscoverCoreCore
SearchCorePartial
PitchCorePartial
MeasureCorePartial

Phase scores come from each company’s row on the map [4][5].

What this comparison does not cover

We did not test either product

This page compares what each vendor says on its own pages and in dated announcements, as recorded on the map. We did not use or test Cision or Notified.

Prices are the map's price notes

The prices here are the map's price notes, from each vendor's own pages or, where marked, third-party estimates. Quotes, discounts and contract terms are not covered.

Data read on Oct. 26, 2026

The newest source on this page was read on Oct. 26, 2026. Products and prices can change after that day.

Questions people ask

Which has an AI agent, Cision or Notified?

Notified. The map labels 2 agent launches from it since April 29, 2025, and none from Cision [4][5]. Notified's latest is "Notified MCP beta: PR and IR data in Teams and Copilot" (announced, beta), dated Oct. 21, 2026 [3].

Which is bigger, Cision or Notified?

The map puts both in scale tier 1, enterprise incumbent. Cision: Platinum Equity-owned; $2.7B take-private in 2020; revenue undisclosed. [4] Notified: Operates GlobeNewswire; 'more than 10,000 global customers' (2023 release); part of Equiniti (12,000 clients combined) since 2025-05-01; revenue not disclosed. [5]

What do Cision and Notified cost?

Cision: A third-party estimate, not a vendor price: vendr median across 107 purchases: ~$12,625/yr (vendr.com/marketplace/cision). [4] Notified: Not published; demo-led. AI Press Release Optimizer included at no extra charge with GlobeNewswire distribution subscriptions. [5]

Which covers Search as a core phase?

Cision does [4]. The map scores Notified as partial there.

Sources

  1. cision.com. cision.com. Read .
  2. notified.com. notified.com. Read .
  3. Notified MCP beta: PR and IR data in Teams and Copilot. GlobeNewswire release (FinancialContent repost). Read .
  4. Cision on the PR software map. Newsprint. Read .
  5. Notified on the PR software map. Newsprint. Read .
  6. Adds follower growth, engagement and posting-time Social charts. CisionOne help center: Product Updates October 2026. Read .
  7. Adds Spike Notifications to CisionOne Monitoring. CisionOne help center: Product Updates September 2026. Read .
  8. Adds scheduled email delivery of Instant Insights reports. CisionOne help center: Product Updates August 2026. Read .
  9. AI Visibility Dashboard. PR Newswire. Read .
  10. Adds Agentic Event Reporting to IR Hub. Notified newsroom. Read .
  11. Adds a Hearst Media distribution circuit. Notified newsroom. Read .

See what you would have known this morning.

Enter your work email. We'll research your company and send you a brief tailored just for you. No commitment. No credit card.